Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 5:30 pm

Reviews5 star
Reviews

Services7000
Square Feet

20+ Years
Providing Service

MechanicPlatinum
I-CAR® Certified Technicians

Utah laws that affect you!

December 27, 2018 in Tips

In case you are behind the 8-ball, a Utah law went into effect last year that ended mandatory vehicle safety inspections before registration at the Department of Motor Vehicles.

A $1 increase of vehicle registration fees for most vehicles was also included in the law, HB265. That money will fund Utah Highway Patrol troopers.

So far, it seems few people are complaining as Utah has followed suit with more than 30 other states when it comes to mandatory vehicle safety inspections.

There are currently 16 states that require periodic safety inspections. Maryland and Alabama require a safety inspection on sale or transfer of vehicles previously registered in another state, according to Wikipedia.

Even though mandatory vehicle safety inspections are no longer required in the state of Utah, police are warning vehicle owners to maintain their car in ensuring their vehicles are safe.

Safety requirements, with regard to the law, have not changed. If you are in violation of vehicle safety laws you are still held accountable.

Commercial vehicles such as taxis, shuttle buses and school buses still will have the requirement of an annual safety inspection. Salvaged and off-road vehicles will require a safety inspection before they are allowed on the road for the first time and emissions inspections are still legally required every other year.

Also, keep in mind, Utah was the first state to lower the legal blood alcohol driving limit.  Driving with a blood alcohol level of .05 or higher, rather than the .08 standard that every other state and the District of Columbia use means Utah has the strictest DUI law in the nation.

Lower limits will deter drunken driving and save lives. Many industrialized countries, including Australia, France and Italy, already have a .05 or lower standard. Hungary and Romania are among those that have a 0.00 level.

For additional information regarding motor vehicle laws in the state of Utah, please visit the following: Laws, Codes and Statutes or Administrative Laws.

For helpful advice or to learn more about our services, contact A.U.T.O. Collision at 801.568.0305 or visit the shop at 215 West 9210 South, Sandy, Utah 84070. We are here to serve you Monday – Friday, 8am – 5:30pm.

AUTO Collision is here in your time of need. No one wants to go through more hassle after an accident. Schedule an Appointment and we’ll help you through the repair process.

Schedule Appointment

Latest News & Events

Unique Day Trips in Utah

By the middle of July, everyone begins to suffer from summer boredom. Sometimes you just need to get away for a day of fun, especially after the last 3-4 months of uncertain times in our nation. Well, as things begin to open up, you can hop in the car and find a change of scenery […]

Essential Steps for Handling Hail Damage

Throughout the warmer months, we see our fair share of hail throughout the area during storms. Depending on where you park your vehicle, hailstorms can do a bit of body damage in no time. At A.U.T.O. Collision, we know handling repairs can be a confusing process. Below, we break down the steps you will need […]

Car Events in Utah During July

As summer officially gets started, along comes the reopening of our great state of Utah. Summer is usually full of events, especially car races, shows, swap meets, and car meets. This year may look a little different in that many of the events have been moved into fall instead of summer. But a few of […]